Freedom of Appearance

Today I had a pretty bad day and I was about to blog about it. However a few things changed my mind. One, I vowed to stop having blogs that were just me whinging, I wanted to be more positive and interesting! Two, I got quite a few hits yesterday after actually opening my blog to the public, which is kind of daunting and, if I want them to repeat anytime soon, I don’t want to scare them off with an awfully depressing blog. and Three, a drive home with my friend Mark made me want to discuss this.

I am a BIG believer in individuality. It is partly why I’ve wanted to start accepting myself more. I believe everyone should be themselves and be happy to be themselves. These days there is so much pressure to look a certain way and act a certain way. For instance, as a guy I feel pressure to be the fit, athletic business man type, desperate to climb the corporate ladder and wear a high price suit. Now I have nothing against Suits, after all Suits are Cool, but this means I’m classed as immature or geeky for liking what I like and doing what I do. This annoys me.

Now what really got me onto this topic was a big discussion about tattoos. My friend Mark has some really awesome tattoos, and we were discussing how awful it is that a company can restrict how you look. Many companies will not hire you if you have tattoos on display, or too many piercings, or a non-traditional hair style and in no way should this be the case. Don’t get me wrong, I can kind of see the logic behind it in customer facing jobs, as so many people in this world are so uptight and judgmental, but this kind of thing extends beyond that to even office jobs. Someone should not be punished for how they look. I don’t understand how we’ve let this carry on thinking it was fair? People have the right to look how they want, we should base decisions on ability and personality, not style. If anything, it shows that this person has more personality and probably more spirit. Heck, the girls I tend to like are usually alternative or have their own style, purely because it means they don’t fit with the norm and they are their own person.

I am struggling to find a way to wrap this up. I’ve kind of said what I want to say, so I will leave you with this: Allow people to be themselves. We naturally crave social acceptance but this doesn’t mean we don’t retain our uniqueness. Don’t let yourself become just another robot in the work place.

Shaun

@shaunkellett

Leave a Reply

