Lighthouses

Last Monday I found out I’d had an offer accepted on a house. It’s to be my first fully owned and non-rented home, where my girlfriend and I will live. A truly exciting, if not somewhat stressful, premise. I can’t understate how happy we were. We went to bed and barely slept; our minds swimming with possibility and that nights Game of Thrones episode. In the morning, however, I woke up to find her in tears; her Grandad had died. Three days later she calls me, again in tears, and I find out her Grandma has also passed away.

Years ago, we would build lighthouses on the edge on treacherous shorelines, where turquoise seas darkened and blend into the land, and where storms and mist belay the sharp rocks and shallow shores. These lighthouses were used to navigate, to keep a ship away from harm, and I believe we need them in our everyday lives too.

To my girlfriend and I, our big move is a lighthouse. Right now, with the upset going on, with the loss of family members entwined with the usual stress of our lives and day jobs, we need something to focus on and look forward to. We need something to help us navigate away from rocky cliffs while storms roll on over head.

It’s important, I think, to have a light that will shine, no matter how dark the day is going to get; something that let’s us navigate safely in dangerous waters. Not everyone will have something as big as a house move, but a lighthouse doesn’t have to be big, it just has to be bright. If we make sure we have something to look forward to, be it as big as a house move, or as small as a night in with a friend, be it a new book, a new film, a day out with family… Hell, I even look forward to a night of doing absolutely nothing, for instance… If we have those events in the near future, they shine us a guiding light in the present. Even if things are going great and there’s not a cloud in the sky. We always need things to look forward to, we never know when a storm is coming.

3 thoughts on “Lighthouses

Leave a Reply

