My Lens: Part 1 – Seeing the World in Pictures and Words

Do you ever find that when you’re doing something so much, or so focused on one thing, that you end up seeing the world through a certain lens? As someone who plays a lot of video games, I’ve noted this since I was little… I remember lying in bed at silly o’clock, after sneaking some game time after Mom and Dad fell asleep, and finding it impossible to use my imagination without picturing it in that video game world. It’s actually called the Tetris Effect and, back then, it was distracting to say the least. Now I’m older though, I’ve realised it can actually be quite the blessing.

As a photographer, spending your days looking down a viewfinder, you begin to see the world as a series of potential photos. Where other people see their walk to work, you see a series of incredible images going unnoticed to the general populace. Before actually devoting time to my camera I used to scroll through the thousands upon thousands of amazing photos on Flickr wondering “How did they capture that moment?”. I realised later it’s because of how they see the world, their practice with the camera, and whilst I’m by no means the best photographer in the world, I now finally see those potential images in everyday life; it still surprises me to this day. It’s a wonderful, creative way to view the world and one I’d recommend to anyone.

So why am I mentioning it? Is it to recommend everyone take up photography? Not really, at least that my sole aim, though I’d recommend to anyone and everyone to try it, at least for a few weeks. The reason I mention it is because I’m seeing the world through yet another lens now… I’m seeing the world in words. I’m not talking about how Neo sees the Matrix, letters and code flying up and down, but more that I’m seeing and thinking of potential blog posts and potential stories. I’ve always been a writer, I’ve always had ideas building up within my head, but I’ve never quite got to the point of having this outlook. One of the main things that’s always held me back is a doubt I’ll have enough ideas, as though my mind is a spring soon to run dry. After all, there’s only so many times I can bitch and moan about my motivation, right? But in all seriousness, blogging more frequently, even writing more frequently, is what I’ve needed to see the world in an entirely new way. I liken this to my photography, because it’s what I know, but I’d assume its akin to musicians hearing songs in the every day hubbub of life. It’s true that to be a writer, a photographer, a musician, you have to actively practice your craft, but nobody ever tells you how it changes your view. If it works for writing, photography, and, I assume, music, try to imagine what else is out there!

As the title suggests, this is only Part 1. Please check back this time next week for Part 2… And in the mean time, why not comment to tell us… How do you see the world? Do you have a certain “lens”?

 

11 thoughts on “My Lens: Part 1 – Seeing the World in Pictures and Words

  1. Pingback: My Lens: Part 3 – The Power of a Lens – Clockwork Clouds

  2. I’m no photographer but having a camera on my phone changed the way I saw the world. Now even the most mundane activities like a cup of tea, or not so mundane like the vultures that were chilling on my mango tree earlier, becomes a photo op, a moment to be celebrated and archived in my history.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a blessing and a curse, I think. The ability to be able to capture and record moments is fantastic 🙂 But it does keep us a little too focused on our phones at times, haha. Still, I think the benefits are worth it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You’re so right about the different lenses. I’ve had both the gaming and the photography ones. The photography took me by surprise because while mentally framing shots things really did look different, it was like i hadn’t always been able to see what was around me!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ahhh, that glorious moment when the words (or images) start flowing through your brain! I completely agree, and I’ve found the more I focus on photography, the more my words flow (and vice-versa). It’s like they’re constantly replenishing each other – not that I don’t have dry stretches, but taking a break from one to do the other seems to do the trick.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: My Lens: Part 2 – A Happier Perspective | Clockwork Clouds

Leave a Reply

