Let’s Get Serious!

It’s time to get serious, who’s with me?

On Friday I wrote about how I’m finally taking my blog seriously; and I am. I’m also taking my life and my dreams a lot more seriously too. I’m currently 27 and I know the career I am in now isn’t where I see the rest of my life. The people? They’re lovely! The work? It’s not too bad! The pay? Well, the pay is great in all honesty… But I want something more from my future, I want my dreams to come true… After all, who doesn’t?

So, without boring you with my nigh-impossible dreams. I thought I’d quickly highlight the things I’m doing to achieve them.

 

Firstly, as per Fridays post, I’m taking my blog a lot more seriously, this here that you’re reading, and I am already noticing fantastic results. I’m actively reading other peoples work, taking part in competitions and challenges, and I’m learning so much each day! I’ve had this blog a while now, but never treated it as anything more than a glorified journal, and I certainly never advertised it… But, I have to say it’s so far been invaluable! It’s definitely the biggest step forward I’ve made. I’ve even got a logo!

Clock Clouds

Secondly, I’m actively pursuing my career in photography. You may, or may not, be aware that my friend Greg and I run Level Up Photography. We’re currently doing Wordless Wednesdays, such as entry Number 1 and Number 2, and clients are actually coming in a lot quicker than we initially expected! It’s an incredibly exciting time for both of us. We have hopes that one day in the future we will be able to open our own studio… Then things will really be taking off! (Oh, and we also have a Logo for this!)

lupblackclean

Thirdly, my attitude has just entirely changed. I’ve set myself a goal now and I’m aiming towards it. By the time I’m 31 I want to be making money from my creative pursuits. Ideally I’d like to make writing and photography my full time business, and I don’t think that’s too impossible. Failing that, I’d at least like to reduce my other work to allow for more creative time. Creativity keeps me happy, keeps me sane, and I know that’s where my future lies. It’s taken awhile to understand that and to realise these things don’t just fall on your lap. I’ve spent over a decade of my life saying “I’m going to be an author!” but never making a real effort to achieve that. Sure I always thought I was, but I wasn’t really. I needed to adjust my mindset, engage in my future, and actively create my opportunities.

So I’m taking my future seriously, very seriously indeed, but I’m definitely having a lot of fun along the way!

What about you? Do you have dreams you want to achieve? What are you doing to get there? I’d love to hear other peoples stories! (Even if your dreams have already come true!)

22 thoughts on “Let’s Get Serious!

  1. Pingback: Building upon the Clouds – Clockwork Clouds

  2. Pingback: WiP Wednesday #2 – Clockwork Clouds

  3. Quintessential Editor

    I love the clockwork clouds logo! Simple but powerful, like a good branding logo should be. The Level Up logo strikes me the same way. Good luck with the photography! I used to be pretty involved with photography, now it’s just something I do for fun.

    It’s exciting to see your motivation and new directions. Best of luck to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It’s nice to hear someone other than Family say the logo’s work haha. What did you used to do in Photography? We’ve gone the other way, we both did it as a hobby till we were asked to shoot a colleagues wedding… And now we’re trying to make it viable. If I could spend my days making something livable with just my camera and my writing pad I think I’d have reached my dream.

      Thanks for the well wishes!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Quintessential Editor

        I was a photographer, videographer, and combat cameraman in the Navy for eight years. So I’ve been around the block a few times with the trusty cameras.

        A lot of my friends went on to do wedding photography, vacation photography, or other visual media related things. It seems the hardest part is figuring out who is doing what in your area (the competition) and finding a way to make yourself unique. I’ve seen people use props, low light photography with sparklers, and all kinds of other crazy nonsense. Good luck crushing the competition and surfing on their tears!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I’ve literally just had to slap my hand against my forehead – I knew that’s what you used to do! Why did I ask? Haha. Blame it on a hazy Monday Morning. Definitely a very interesting field to pursue it in, not something I’d follow!

          The Competition is genuinely disheartening to look at sometimes; everyone is so talented! Still, just got to push on and find that niche, as you say.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Quintessential Editor

            Hah, no worries. Keeping track of our cyber friends can be a little confusing at time.

            The nice thing about wedding photography is if you do it well, the clients tend to the advertising for you. It seems wedding related services have the greatest word-of-mouth marketing behind them. Plus with digital media, they will likely splash your watermarked images all over social media. So if you do something really awesome and clever, it could end up on Pinterest, Twitter, and places like that. With social media it’s a really great time to be in the business. Good luck!

            Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve gone through a similar thing, although at a later age. Work is OK but I don’t want to do it forever, hence the writing. The odds are stacked against us but I would hate to wonder on my deathbed what would have happened if I tried. Good luck with you dreams.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Eric 🙂 Glad I’m not the only one in this boat! I think it’s important to strive and try for something, as you say I’d hate to regret it later and wonder what might have been. “You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take” and all that!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Creation: A “Monday Motivations” Flash Fiction – Clockwork Clouds

  6. YES! Good luck Shaun! The logo looks fantastic! And it seems you & I have similar mindsets because I’ve been revamping my blog and taking it more seriously too (I added a logo too haha!) Anyway this is a great new chapter for you, I think. It’s a good time for a change and I wish you all the best!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. It’s great you’re defining your dreams and starting to make them come true. I didn’t realise one of mine was to be a writer until I’d realised quite a few of the other dreams. Writing is one thing, and I can do that. Selling is a different matter entirely and I’m lacking the skills for that one. Hope you do better 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve always known I wanted to be a writer, ever since I was little, but I never actually did anything to achieve it… It was always something that was going to happen “in the future”. So I needed to actually define that I was going to get there at some point and how! The whole journey is a little daunting, the advertising, the getting sales… Even just getting the odd reader on my blog feels like an achievement at the moment! Not sure how I’ll cope when I get round to the other bits… But hopefully can approach it all as it comes… Perhaps you’ll be an expert by that time and I’ll be learning it all from you 😉 After all, we’re all learning one step at a time, it’s what brings us to these blogs!

      Like

        1. I saw a quote once which was along the lines of “Those who make it big aren’t always the most talented, but the most persistent” and I think that’s very true. Not saying those who reach it don’t have the talent there, but I can imagine a lot of talented people give up!

          Like

          1. I have a theory about how the ebook has changed reading habits. Since a book is often cheaper than a magazine, and you get a whole novel rather than a short story or an installment, buying a book rather than a mag has become nothing special. The book-buying public has increased, the number of writers has exploded, and many are doing nicely out of it—on condition that they write what the punters want to read. Horses for courses.

            Like

  8. Gosh, where do I start with my dreams and failed attempts at things? That’s why I have the reputation of being a serial faddist! However, I do think starting my blog last year has helped as it’s forced me to pursue my creative urges.
    I’d still like to display (possibly sell) my photography and I’m in a current fad of digital artwork, I’m just not sure how to go about it. But in all honesty, if I was to be employed full-time doing one of these things, I’d think I’d get restless over all the other activities / creative formats I’d be missing out on. It makes me sound so fickle!
    At least I can say I’ve (self) published and sold some copies of my flash fiction – it’s a start and one to cross off the bucket list. 🙂
    It’s great that you have a plan and that you’re already making some headway, I should have done that years ago too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well me actually having a plan took years of me umming and arring until I kicked myself up the ass and got there! And even still, it’s a fairly loose plan which someone as fickle as me might have a job keeping to. Gotta try though!

      I know what you mean about always wanting that bit more… The grass often seems greener, doesn’t it? I think it’s a start though, maybe. We just reach that one challenge and think “Where next?”. So I at least want to reach that first peak before scouting out the next 😀

      It’s great you’ve already crossed one thing off your bucket list… And I don’t think there’s anything wrong with having Fads… Broadens the creative mind 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

