Creation: A “Monday Motivations” Flash Fiction

So, another day another writing challenge! As I’m now taking this seriously I started on the hunt for other writing challenges… Thing is, it wasn’t long before I saw one popping up on my news feed! They seem to come to me without even having to search; and that’s how you know it’s a good one. This one is hosted on the lovely blog of Esther Newton and is called Monday Motivations. It’s great to see so many people from all over the globe taking parts on these things!

Today’s Challenge: A story of 200 words using the sentence “I hadn’t thought that would happen. So what am I going to do now?”

Here’s my entry:

It’s hard to think, that all those billions of years ago, before even my mind was conceived, that there was nothing. A vast infinite of nothing, both empty and all consuming. Nothingness is boring though, nothingness has no fun.

So, I crafted the world. I swirled together the atoms and smashed them together; making energy and elements. I took dust balls and made mountains, I took fires and smelt the core. I lay the almost impossible foundations of perfect conditions and let the magical essence of life take hold of this one small, seemingly insignificant planetary body. Then I sat and I watched.

I watched as life flourished and sprang into being; as life grew, emerging and evolving through its many different forms. Each impacted the environment in its own way, but each carried with it some instinctive respect. The world prospered and blossomed. Each life, from plant to animal, grew stronger and healthier. They adapted as homogenous home-owners, treating their world with respect. But, then came the dawn humanity and with it the arrogance of industry. Selfish and all-consuming beings; draining the planet and its finite resources. I hadn’t thought that would happen. So what am I going to do now?

*****

I hope you enjoyed! If you feel like taking part, I’d love to see your entries! Or maybe you have some other challenges you could recommend? Let me know!

6 thoughts on “Creation: A “Monday Motivations” Flash Fiction

  1. Pingback: The Hiding Place: A Monday Motivations – Clockwork Clouds

  2. Pingback: At The End: A Monday Motivations – Clockwork Clouds

  3. Pingback: The Musician: A Monday Motivations Flash Fiction – Clockwork Clouds

  4. Pingback: Gold & Misery: A Monday Motivations Flash Fiction – Clockwork Clouds

Leave a Reply

