WiP Wednesday #1: A Novel in 3 Sentences

Recently I’ve been taking part in a fair number of Writing PromptsAnd I’m always on the hunt for more! – but, whilst they’ve been excellent at helping my brain follow different inspirations, they mean I never get round to posting about the novel I’m actually working on in the background. For that reason, I want to start doing Work In Progress Wednesdays. It’s been something I’ve been planning to do since I started up my blog and I think it would be a good way of maintaining my focus and updating my progress on my novel.

With this in mind, what better way to start to this process by taking part in Sacha Black’s Writespiration! If you haven’t been to Sacha’s Blog it’s a great resource for writers; each of her posts are all kinds of helpful and today’s exercise is no different. For today’s Writespiration Sacha has challenged the future published authors of the world to “boil your plot down to its simplest form” by “telling your entire novels story in three sentences”.  Sounds simple right?

So, without further introduction, here we go:

Kolast is a Blood Mage who has traveled home to save a dying king. He meets a talented young girl who requests his tutelage. Together they uncover and disrupt an insidious plan to kill the king and send the country, and potentially the world, into disarray.

It was surprisingly hard to boil my story down to 3 sentences, especially without making those sentences impossibly long or without giving away any spoilers the plot may hinge on. It was a fun exercise and, whilst I don’t make reference to them here, it actually made me think a great deal about some of the central themes within my story. I’ll be sure to address these a bit more in future WiP Wednesdays! In fact, now that I’ve committed myself… I better get writing!

What do you think? Would you read my three line novel? And how about yours? I would love to read some more novels in three sentences!

16 thoughts on “WiP Wednesday #1: A Novel in 3 Sentences

  1. Pingback: 200 Followers! – A WiPW – Clockwork Clouds

  2. Pingback: Writespiration #95 Kaleidoscopes, Labyrinths, and Maze Worlds | Sacha Black

  3. Pingback: WiP Wednesday #2 – Clockwork Clouds

  4. Pingback: Prompting Passion (Or Passionate Prompts?) – Clockwork Clouds

  5. Reblogged this on Eric's blog and commented:
    This a new blog for me, he found me and I dutifully followed back. I’m pleased I did although he is a better writer than I am (grrr) it has some great tips and advice as well as an entertaining read.

  6. That’s really hard. I had enough trouble trying to write my blurb at that was more than three sentences. I might have a go doing this if you don’t mind me pinching your idea. Your books sounds very good, I like the hints, like for example what is a blood mage?

    1. Not my idea, it’s all thanks to Sacha so pinch away! 🙂 They say a blurb is one of the hardest things for a writer to write… So that’s saying something!

    1. Us Brits are good at nothing if not understatement!

      Way ahead of you! Already got Sonyas prompt done and posted 🙂 (Well, I’m not technically ahead of you, as you posted this comment first… But you get my meaning! haha) I’m a big fan of these 3 Line Tales! Never thought of condensing my novel into one though!

      1. I’d like to be able to say that when you spend as many hours as I do battling with blurbs, tag lines and log lines, you get good at it. But that ain’t necessarily so.

  7. Ah, you found Sacha’s blog!! I love her blog. So insightful and really useful for writers. Her Writespiration prompts are creative too. I’ve been a fan for some time lol

    Ooh, your 3 sentences are packed with plot, suspense, and intrigue. That sounds like it’s going to be a fantastic story 🙂

    1. Sacha’s blog is truly great! Her tips are always exactly what you need to hear. Amazing how small the online community actually seems to be, we all find the same places 😉

      Thank you so much Jade. Hopefully it will be! We’ll have to wait and see haha.

Leave a Reply

