WiP Wednesday #2

Last week I vowed to do WiP Wednesdays; a day a week, here on the blog, where I would update you on the progress of my current Work in Progress (WiP). Maybe share some lessons learnt along the way; or even pick up tips!

It’s something I’ve wanted to do for quite some time now, but I’ve never had a chance to start it. Well, last week was the perfect time thanks to the prompt I had from Sacha Blacks Writespiration. Eagerly, I grasped this as the start of my WiP Wednesday challenge! This was it, what a way to begin! Now, we’re one week on and I’ve had the sudden realisation that I don’t actually know how this WiP Wednesday thing should go. I figured it was something people did – I mean it’s alliteration! How could you not do WiP Wednesday? – But then I scowered my WordPress Reader… Turns out people do do WiP Wednesdays –  Hurrah! – But those people tend to do it with Arts & Crafts… Ah.

So, I’m kind of winging it here! But why not, ay? I don’t always have to follow someone else’s example. Let’s be unique.

What is my WiP?

It’s not a secret that I’m working on a Novel. It’s currently titled: Remembrance in Blood.

The story focuses around two main characters: Kolast and Valerys. Kolast is a blood mage. Scratch that, he’s the Blood Mage; the best of the best. Currently, he’s just finishing up his business and returning home where the King has fallen gravely ill. Lots of treaties rest on the Kings head, he was the ruler who won the Long War after all, and Kolast is determined to not let him die. Valerys, on the other hand, is a young half-elf girl who gets taken on as Kolast’s protégé. She already has some fairly unique abilities and, when she meets Kolast on his on his journey, she tries to help him in exchange for learning his craft. Together, they start to learn that things in the country might not be as they seem; violent crime is on the rise, people are going missing, and tensions between the Human leaders, let alone the leaders of the other Races, are high. Can the two of them cure the King? And if not, what happens to the rest of the country?

I’m aware it sounds fairly cliché. I actually set out with the intention of turning some tropes on their heads, but I’m starting to feel this might not be the case. We’ll see what we can do. Hopefully I haven’t made the story sound too dull though! They do say a synopsis is one of the harder things to write and, much like the rest of my story, this isn’t the final version.

 As for the actual physicality of my Story it currently sits at only 4000 words. That really isn’t anything… at all. Especially as I follow so many people on here who are editing their first drafts, their second drafts, their seconds books… But this isn’t about them. This is me. I was tempted to add an extra zero to my total, but what’s the point in this if I’m not being honest? It doesn’t matter where you start, just that you start. If I keep updating these WiP Wednesdays, even every other Wednesday, I can watch that word count grow!

Remembrance in Blood isn’t the first novel I’ve attempted; it’s not even the only novel I have (mentally) drafted. However, it’s the one I’ve chosen to actually go the distance with and make work. It’s the one I’m taking seriously. Hopefully, I can keep you updated on the process and we can learn from it together. Not to mention making me more disciplined by adding some sort of accountability.

Wish me luck!

Do you have a Work In Progress (WiP) you’re working on? Why not join me for WiP Wednesdays?! I’d love to make these a bigger thing and I’d love to see your work/read your updates!

9 thoughts on “WiP Wednesday #2

  1. Pingback: Becoming one with the Skeleton: WiP Wednesday #3 – Clockwork Clouds

  2. I just read a little more of your page, and Remembrance in Blood sounds BADASS. Please, please, please keep plugging along! 4,000 words may not seem like a lot, but it’s about 4,000 more words than most people write. I am really excited to see how your story progresses!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like the idea of a WIP Wednesday – if I didn’t already do a Wednesday Wander I’d be tempted to join you 🙂

    And well done on your first 4000 words! I found the hardest thing about writing my first book was sitting down to actually start writing it. You are already on your way 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Helen 🙂 I was surprised it wasn’t a thing writers did! And you’re completely right; I’ve put off writing for ages, always thinking I needed to plan more before starting, but it’s good to actually just START. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

