Memory Boxes

I’ve been feeling great recently.

Last week, we had the letter through from the Estate Agents to say our contracts had exchanged; nobody could back out now! This means that the keys will soon be in my hands and it all feels very real.

That said, I didn’t want to write about my excitement to move until actually moved. I want to be able to say to you all “Guess what?! I have the keys!”. Still, since I can barely think of anything other than the move right now, I want to share with you something that is also very special to me.

Tada!

wp-1473670836694.jpg

What you see here, is a wooden chest and a pillow.

The other night my parents surprised Kirsty and myself with these gifts. The pillow was handmade by my Mom, whilst my Dad crafted the chest. How incredible is that? This is honestly one of the best gifts I’ve ever received. The chest was actually full of little household bits; kitchen utensils, chopping boards, measuring jugs, the kind of thing you forget to buy for yourself when you move. These little gifts, however, are not what made the whole thing special. It was the love that has gone into the handcrafted parts, the thought that had gone into the whole thing, and it was how we could decorate our new home with all these wonderful things.

We already know that we want these gifts in our new house, in the corner of the bedroom or at the end of the bed, and in the future, when the box is cleared of all the little gifts, we’re going to use the chest as a box of memories. We’re going to fill it with keepsakes across the years; things we want to remember and treasure. Memory boxes have always been very important to me. I like to keep things; ticket stubs, notes, picture albums. I’m a bit of a hoarder in that regard. Memory boxes have always been quite personal though, they’ve been something I kept for myself, but now, along with our house, Kirsty and I have a box of memories to share together.

wp-1473670844954.jpg

Oh, and why Paris I hear you ask? That was our first holiday together. It will always be very special!

Do you keep a memory box? Or have any treasured hand made gifts?

 

14 thoughts on “Memory Boxes

  1. Oh Shaun, this is really beautiful. What a special gift to receive 🙂 And congratulations on getting the keys – that is a really big deal!

    Like you, I store memory keepsakes. I even found a memory box at the start of the year (I remember when it was because I wrote a post about it). It was in a cupboard and when I opened it I found all sorts of wonderful memories, items with no value really except to me. And it was awesome 🙂

    Like

  2. How lovely! Funny that you should mention memory boxes today – we’ve started to clear some of my grandad’s possessions away after his passing and I brought out the box we’d kept of my nana’s things tonight (so they can all be kept together). It’s a few years since I’ve looked in it, but it was lovely to read letters and see her jewellery etc that was in there. I think they’re a wonderful idea. All the best with the move!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s lovely too 🙂 This is why they’re so wonderful, they can contain important reminders of things that aren’t so fresh in the mind. Times gone by, old friends, family, etc. Glad they brought you some warmth at this time. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Family heirlooms are the best presents because they come to you with the love of all of your family, past and present. This looks to be an heirloom in the making! Treasure and keep it safe… and tell your folks they do amazing work.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That’s so nice of your parents. Very special and no doubt you’ll fill that lovely chest with all sorts of wonderful mementos. Happy days! 🙂 p.s. I’m a bit of a hoarder too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Isn’t it! I was in love as soon as I saw it 🙂 The move itself is such a huge memory that the box is bound to be filled!

      I don’t think there is anything wrong with being a hoarder, until it comes time to condense and you realise just how much stuff you have that you just can’t part with…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

