My Happiness Jar: A Friday Feeling

Continuing my weekly theme of New Years, with Mondays resolutions, Thursdays 2016 Thoughts, I wanted to do a Friday Feeling in the same vein. Thursday highlighted what made 2016 a great year, it was full of positive reflections and helped me to really reminisce about the year gone by. I think, more often than not, that’s the problem; that reminiscing can just be so hard when you don’t take the time to keep reminders.

Whilst many of the more prominent moments of 2016 were easily brought to mind, without the use of Facebook, I would have left some of my memories behind. I don’t like the thought of that. I know we can’t remember everything, but I want to remember as much as possible.

Well, luckily, 2017 is going to be a bit different. Not only will I have this blog to look back on, but I’ve invested in a jar. A Happiness Jar, to be precise.

wp-1483658854841.jpg
A Happiness Jar slowly filling with memories!

Ok, so at the moment it’s just a jar… but you get the idea. Over the course of the year, Kirsty and I will slowly fill this jar will all the happy memories we make. Then, on the 1st of January 2018, we’ll open this up and read through everything that made 2017 a great year!

This was an idea brought to me through the powerful medium of Shelley Wilsons blog, and it instantly struck me as something I wanted to do. Every year, without fail, I try to start a journal. I am obsessed with starting brand new notebooks where I write down my happy things for the day… As with most things, I’ll miss a day, then a week, then a month, and then these poor little notebooks get left by the wayside. This jar will be different. It’s pride of place in my lounge, and Kirsty and I are already filling it up with different slips of coloured paper. It’ll look beautiful as it fills with a rainbow of different paper slips and, come January 1st 2018, we’ll have a big jar of memories to open and look back on.

wp-1483658854835.jpg
My new diary! “A Good Plan”

All that said, I can’t really give up my notebook addiction. I helped to fund the English translation of this fancy little notebook, “A Good Plan“, at the end of last year; you can find it on their site here. It’s a bit more in depth and reflective than my other journals, but the tagline for it really appealed to me: “Because the most important book in your life should be about your life”. Let’s see if I can keep it up!

How are you keeping track of the year to come? Relying on memory? On your blog? Or on a something entirely unique? Let me know in the comments below!

23 thoughts on “My Happiness Jar: A Friday Feeling

  1. Pingback: Last Week: A Friday Feeling – Clockwork Clouds

  2. Pingback: 3 Steps to Help Combat your Anxieties! – Clockwork Clouds

  3. I’ve heard about these jars and considered doing one too – they are such a nice idea, and a simple way to keep memories alive 🙂

    Wishing you a year filled with rainbow coloured paper!

  4. I really like the jar idea, a good friend of mine talked about it on one of his Facebook live posts. Absolutely brilliant way to teach yourself to be happy and be thankful, however big or small 🙂

  5. I’ve heard that happiness jars are AMAZING when you open them up at the end of the year and read the 365 x 2 happy things that made your year happy. You’ve inspired me, Shaun. I’ve been meaning to do this too and I’m going to start today 😀

    1. I think they’re going to be almost as amazing unopened too; I just love watching the colourful bits of paper mount up! Can only imagine how it will look come the end of the year 🙂

      Glad I could help pass on the inspiration that I had! I recommend a quick read of the original post too (I can’t take the credit! haha).

  6. cindablock

    The happiness jar is such a great idea! I keep a scrap book of me and my partners adventures, I fill it with ticket stubs, napkins from restaurants and all the silly little things you might forget otherwise. It’s good to go through and have a giggle every now and then. I’m also daily Journaling on my blog, I think it’ll be a really good way to look back at the end of the year in a more ‘big picture’ way

    1. I have a “Memory Box” I fill with things like ticket stubs, programmes, and other little things. I love mementos! I can barely remember what happened yesterday so it’s great to have something to reflect on 🙂

  7. Omg that’s a great idea. 😮 As I live alone-in-a-shared house at the moment I think I’ll wait till I can share the process with someone but I truly want to try this someday now!

      1. Oo it’s tempting! It’s more that I like the idea of opening them all with someone and sharing the happy memories.. hmm I’m going to consider this!

Leave a Reply

