3 Steps to Help Combat your Anxieties!

Problems are causes of anxiety, of unhappiness, of stress and we need to combat them effectively as soon as we can; most importantly we need to make sure we combat the source and not the symptom.

For me here on the Clouds, the running theme of January, and 2017 in general, has been about self-improvement. There are a few ways we can improve, we can find areas where we have room to grow, areas that aren’t necessarily problematic, or we can find the areas where our bigger issues lie. I’ve written before about expanding my horizons, about taking risks, and about stepping out of my comfort-zone, and whilst these are areas I want to improve, they’re ‘nice to have’; they’re not active problems in my lifestyle. If I don’t read more books, and if I don’t get out more, I’m not necessarily going to negatively impact my life so much as I’m just not going to excel. It’s a negative to an extent, but it isn’t a source of stress. Instead, today I want to talk about finding the root cause of your problems, the aspects of life that have a negative impact, that bring you down, that stack up over the course of a day, a week, a month, and gradually tug you down with them.

Step 1: Seeing the Smoke

To start, we need to make sure we notice the ‘Smoke’, the symptoms and the warning signs, that can lead us to the ‘Fire’, the cause. To do this, I make a mental note of all the things that bother me throughout my daily life. The same result could be achieved with a diary, or with a journal. Whilst I’d normally recommend keeping a Happiness Journal (or Jar!), that can serve as a reminder for all the good in your life, for the purpose of self-improvement it is useful to make note of areas, and times, that you feel anxiety or stress coming on.

Example 1: I feel stressed and anxious when I sit in traffic, well aware I’m about to be late. I do this almost every morning. The amount I feel fluctuates, depending on my mood, depending on how late I will be, and depending on what I have on that day.

Example 2: I feel stressed and anxious when Kirsty and I argue. The amount I feel fluctuates depending on the size of the argument, but it can leave me feeling shaken for the rest of the day or even impact a whole week.

In both my examples, I can see the ‘smoke’; I can see the building of anxiety. Whether it’s the stress of sitting in unmoving traffic, or the upset of a disappointed love one, these are two situations that really impact my life. Maybe, on a good day, I shake off the fact I’m late; I get into work, I laugh and joke, and I get on with my day. It’s fine really, I don’t notice it, I don’t think about it again… but it’s safe to say it does build up, it’s safe to say it does have an impact, albeit a small one. By combating the small impacts, we lessen the bigger ones by default.  

Step 2: Dousing the Flames.

The ‘Flames’ here are the causes for my anxiety; in example 1 it was because I was late. This daily stressor, which impacted me almost every day, was causing a knock on effect to the overall anxiety in my life. So, how do we combat this? How do we douse the flames? Well clearly it’s simple! I just stop being late. There, done. Bish, bash, and boom. Now watch as my anxiety and stress fade away…

Ok, my sarcasm aside, maybe Example 1, being late, is an easier fix than most. Where do we stand on Example 2 then? Example 2 was that I argue with Kirsty, my girlfriend, so the solution by this logic is just to stop arguing. As much as I’d like it to be that easy, it’s not. Suddenly we realise the flaw in this plan, we realise how ineffective it is to say “just fix things”.

I left Step 2 in to make a point; it’s not easy to just keep firefighting. I could take steps to ensure I’m no longer tardy, or to minimise the arguments Kirsty and I might have, and it might be effective in the moment, but this really requires Step 3, the magic step.

Step 3: The Source of the Fire

Like a fire department, we want to combat the flames before they spread and do irreparable damage. Also much like a fire department, we can try to work out where a fire started and avoid it. I firmly believe that many people stop before Step 3, that they go through life ‘firefighting’, which in this case I’m using to mean sorting problems when they arise rather than working to avoid them all together.

This is where things get really interesting, and this is where it would benefit from having a list of all of your stressors as, and when, they come about. The thing is, when you spell out all the things that are bothering you in life, no matter how long the list might look, many of these factors may stem from a common source; a gas leak or a lit candle (I’m determined to keep this analogy).

Whilst I only gave you two examples from my longer list, I can tell you now that many of my daily stressors stem from the same place. In Example 1, and numerous others, it’s a lack of organisation. This means I don’t get my stuff ready the night before, this means I don’t have a routine to stick to every morning, this means I don’t make enough time to get to work in the morning. It also means I don’t have my finances in order, and I haven’t paid that bill I’ve been putting off, it means I haven’t written a blog in advance, and I have to panic and stress to get one ready for my self-set deadline. By realising that much of my anxiety stems from the same key factor, disorganisation, I can start to work on that as a whole and hopefully avoid the stressors in future, rather than just trying to fight them when they arrive. There’s also the potential there that I’m stopping a problem I haven’t even noticed I’m having, something that’s stressing me out but I simply haven’t realised yet.

I believe it’s far more important that we combat these sources, because it’s here we can make the biggest improvements to our lives; it’s here we can minimise future stress and save ourselves from bouts of anxiety. That said, everyone is different, different tactics work for different people, and my method is certainly not a (fire)blanket intended to coat absolutely everyone’s lives. I just hope it helps in some way!

How do you combat your anxieties? Do you have some helpful tactics to share? Or maybe even just a story to tell? Let me know in the comments below!

15 thoughts on “3 Steps to Help Combat your Anxieties!

  1. Pingback: Disorganisation Station – Clockwork Clouds

  2. Pingback: Breaking the Cycle – Clockwork Clouds

  3. Pingback: The Powers of (Mis)communication – Clockwork Clouds

  4. Shaun, another excellent and thought provoking post. In the past I have worked with elite athletes around issues of anxiety which are major block to performance. One issue with anxiety strategies are they can lead to further anxiety. For instance, if someone having anxious thoughts practices positive thinking and the positive thinking doesn’t work then this will increase the anxiety level. There is an American psychologist Garret Kramer who has written two books, Stillpower and the Path of No Resistance, which give an alternative perspective to dealing with anxiety. It might be worth having a read and seeing what you think.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Davy, I’ll be sure to check them out! Always interested in reading different mindsets, especially differing ones to avoid my confirmation bias!

      I used to believe positive thinking was the answer to everything, but I realised it can also bring you into the same Catch 22 you mentioned above. At the moment I try to be realistic with a hint of positivity to it. I’ve also been reading more about Stoicism recently and how that mentality works…. Lots of interesting philosophies out there! No one true answer.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I like this too! Work and my perception of my work is a very common strand throughout the stressors in my life. It’s amazing how subjective stress is. A poor man on the street versus an investment banker – who is more stressed? You might assume the homeless man, but it’s not always straight forward.

    Like

  6. I like this post and how you write 🙂 Proactive problem solving and working out the root causes of why things go wrong is essential. A lot of people complain about the same old patterns but we CAN change our behaviours to get new better patterns 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Laura Routh

    Great post! Now, be easy on yourself with tackling the source – disorganization. Many people try to tackle the hardest part of a situation they want to change first. I find that I become immobilized if I take that route. Instead, I begin with what feels the most natural and easiest task to accomplish, which then fuels the rest. Nice read and thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading, Laura, and some great advice there! It’s definitely worth breaking things down into even further, manageable chunks. No point overwhelming yourself when you’re trying to help yourself! Haha.

      I plan to follow the theme next Monday and discuss how I actually tackled the issues 🙂 Thank for your comments!

      Like

Leave a Reply

