The Musician: A Monday Motivations Flash Fiction

Beyond those crimson curtain the fans shouted and screamed, calling for an encore to the encore, but he smiled, content with his performance and made his way to his car; shedding his costume like a second skin.

Front of house, he waited patiently, engine on, and watched as the streams of boisterous teenagers left the show; all of them deep in conversation, reliving each moment of their night.

“Dad!” She screamed, as she jumped into the back of the car “You’ll never believe what he did this time!”

****

Like the last time I took part in Esther Newton’s Monday Motivations I was instantly hit with an idea. I tried, as I normally do, to stick to three lines, and whilst I succeeded this one was a bit more challenging than any other I’ve written recently. There was so much more I wanted to say; so much more I wanted to convey… Hopefully the message comes across.

The themes were: Secrets, Fame, Music.

A big thank you for Esther for running these Monday Motivations! Looking forward to the next ones too. If you want to see my previous entries, there is either Creation or Gold & Misery!

11 thoughts on “The Musician: A Monday Motivations Flash Fiction

  1. Pingback: The Hiding Place: A Monday Motivations – Clockwork Clouds

  2. Pingback: At The End: A Monday Motivations – Clockwork Clouds

  3. Pingback: Monday Motivations | esthernewtonblog

  4. Oooh I liked the easy flow of this flash fiction. Easy to read and easy to jump right into the scene! My one critique would be your use of semicolons. I don’t think they were used properly. Semicolons can be a tricky bunch and they’re a little distracting to the eye most of the time, so personally I try not to use them if I can avoid it.

    In your first paragraph, for example, “Beyond those crimson curtain the fans shouted and screamed, calling for an encore to the encore, but he smiled, content with his performance and made his way to his car; shedding his costume like a second skin” could be revised a little to this ~> “Beyond those crimson curtains, the fans shouted for an encore to his encore, but, content with his performance, he smiled as he strolled to his car, shedding his costume like a second skin.”

    1. Thanks for reading and thanks even more for the feedback, Jade! Normally I pride myself on SemiColon usage, but it seems you may have caught me out on this one! That’s what I get for stressing over condensing it into 3 lines haha.

Leave a Reply

