How the Nintendo Switch gave me a Moment of Adulthood

Adulthood keeps sneaking its way into my life, unseen until a moment of sudden clarity.

When you’re younger, I don’t think you ever fully understand what an Adult is; you go from day to day, week to week, year to year, and you just accept that one day you will become an ‘Adult’. That never happens. You’re still the same, you’re just suddenly making slightly more adult choices and, depending on your living conditions, this can happen slowly or rapidly before you even realise.

You may know by now I’m a huge gamer; I LOVE games. My monthly pay cheque is always spent before it arrives, preordering the latest releases or picking up a new board game to play… at least it used to be.

This weekend saw the launch of the Nintendo Switch, the latest Nintendo console complete with the latest Legend of Zelda game: Breath of the Wild. Zelda is one of my personal favourite series of all time; it fills me to the brim with utter excitement, it pulls at my stomach with nostalgia.  As normal, I preordered the Switch as soon as I could and watched it sat there in my Amazon basket.

I love buying things on day one. I love being part of that exclusive club; those playing it first, discovering it first and being able to experience something ahead of spoilers and ahead of other impressions. When the Xbox One and the PlayStation 4 released within a week of each other, I took a week off work and bought them both. I’d just started a new job, with a considerably higher pay cheque, and by saving enough away for two months I had them both in my hands. It only seemed fair that I bought the Nintendo Switch and took a day off work to celebrate its release.

zelda-breath-of-the-wild.jpg
Eugh, it looks so fucking glorious!

Only, I’m now a homeowner. I now pay a mortgage, I pay bills, I pay expenses. I’ve just had to replace my oven, I’ve got a leaky Kitchen ceiling, and we’re looking at getting a new bed. We’ve got a lounge which is half done, we’ve got a garden which will soon be in the correct season to tend, and, most importantly, I’ve got a Study I want to fit up so I have somewhere to write. I could simply shirk all this; I could simply ‘treat’ myself. I didn’t, though.

In fact, as I write this (a few weeks ago from ‘now’; check me out being scheduled in advance!) my finger is hovering over the ‘Cancel Preorder’ button of the Amazon page. Part of me is hoping that some news will come out, some exciting new announcement, that might justify this Day One purchase to a my sensible adult mind. I know that’s not the case though, I know I can buy one later, I know it’ll be better value later, and I know my money is better off elsewhere. EDIT: This is a particularly painful edit, as Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild is now receiving absolutely stellar reviews and being regarded as an absolute masterpiece… and here I am without it… begrudgingly trying to find some silver lining… I’ll try to go on, but life is looking bleak…

zelda
Be still my heart.

The point I’m trying to make, I guess, is that Adulthood sneaks up on you and it shows itself in a variety of ways. It affects some people earlier than others, situations and circumstance have a way of moulding us, of helping us mould ourselves. You might argue that getting a mortgage was a bigger symbol than this, you might argue that my post is very much a “first world problem” and it undeniably is. I think it’s an example though, nonetheless. A few years ago, I couldn’t picture a Shaun who didn’t own the latest games, the latest consoles, and didn’t keep up with the latest news. That’s me though, that’s me right now. I’m still a gamer, I’m still spending more money than I should on games, but I’m a bit more sensible now… and I suppose that’s part of being an Adult.

Written by Shaun, age 27 and still not sure if he’s an ‘Adult’ yet.

Do you still struggle with the concept of Adulthood? What were your biggest lessons in making the transition? Or are you still waiting for it to happen?! Let me know in the comments below!

30 thoughts on “How the Nintendo Switch gave me a Moment of Adulthood

  1. Pingback: The Switch: #Writespiration #12 – Clockwork Clouds

    1. Haha, I just put myself on a delay… I still plan to get one, May is my target, but like you say… It means we can let everyone else test it for us and we know what we’re buying into then. Personally I’m only buying it for Zelda and Mario a little later on!

  2. This was a great post! None of us enter adulthood with enthusiasm, do we? It’s more of a kicking and screaming as we’re dragged into it kind of thing, don’t you think? 🙂

    1. Haha, I would certainly agree with that, Lisa. I also think it has a way of sneaking up on you… You suddenly have a moment of “Oh no, I’m an adult now?” followed by a desperate clawing of the past, haha.

  3. I really shouldn’t have read this. The standing deal around here is that I get a console of my choice once I finish writing my book. I haven’t made much progress.

    But some things are worth getting early, right?

    1. Haha, but if you get it early surely the book will never get written? At least convince yourself to jot down a couple of extra pages 😉

      But honestly, I can’t talk… I haven’t added anything to my work in progress in months…

    1. Haha, certainly not giving up! Just making a more conscious decision of when/what to spend… I’ll be picking one up in May, I think. Believe me, I couldn’t give up if I tried! haha.

  4. Jason Tremere

    At 46, I am fully into adulthood now. Don’t even need to worry about paying the mortgage anymore. Still can’t bring myself to buy the latest games and consoles. My 7-year-old is happily playing my Wii (original version) and PS3. However, I know he has his eye on a Switch. Like lollowe, if I had time, I really should just get a Raspberry pi and teach him programming.

    1. Ah I’ve just read lollowes comment too, and my point there stands. If you don’t teach him programming sooner or later it’ll be him teaching you! Haha.

      It’s nice that you have him playing some of the older titles, regardless of the reason why, but it can give him an appreciation of where things have come from and grown should he play the more recent titles later on!

  5. I’ve been hovering over the buy now button for a Raspberry pi under the pretence I can teach my 6 yo programming. While it’s not expensive, I know it’ll suck up hours of time when I should be working on things 😆 (I’m an ex gamer that spent 50% of their 20s gaming)

    1. A Raspberry Pi is something that I keep getting the occasional interest in… I’ll spend a week or so researching what I could do on it…but it never comes to fruition… Would definitely be a big time sink though!

      If it’s something you’re interested in, I’d say do it sooner than later, or else its your 6 yo who’ll be teaching you! haha.

  6. Aw bless ya Shaun! I know Adulthood has a way of creeping up on us and suddenly we have …responsibilities !
    I’m over 40 now and sometimes I still struggle!!!

    1. Thanks, Jas! Believe me it keeps changing too, haha. It’s funny because you never really think your priorities will change, and it’s hard to imagine a different you, but it does happen… So slowly you don’t often notice! 🙂

  7. This is a pretty great read, and one I can relate too all too well. At an earlier stage in my life I’d have bought the Switch, Zelda, Horizion, Nier and play a pre-order on Mass Effect without hesitation (it is a CRAZY month).

    That said, my time is limited an more valuable now balancing work and a marriage. I did get the Switch and Zelda, but I haven’t put nearly as much time as I want to into it. I also didn’t get any of the other games being released this month because I can’t justify it when I know I just don’t have the time and extra cash to blow on all of them. Adulthood is such a bittersweet thing.

    1. Glad to know it’s not just me! Haha. I went for Horizon instead, simply because it was less of a cost upfront and could still satisfy that pang. I’m planning a Switch in May, around my Birthday, because I always have a bit of time off around then anyway and more time to enjoy it!

      I’m exactly the same in that I’d have had everything preordered, and I’d have played absolutely everything… But at the same time I probably wouldnt have shown anything as much dedication as I could. The best thing about only buying 1 thing, is that, even if your time is more limited overall, you tend to invest more time into that one game.

      Thanks for commenting, Paul 🙂 Sorry about the late response!

      1. Yeah, May would be a great time to get a Switch since some other titles like Mario Kart 8 and Disgaea 5 will be out and it’ll be right before E3. I’m about 80+ hours in BotW now and all I’ve got left to do is face the final boss. On one hand I’m excited to finish the game so I can start Horizon. On the other hand, I don’t want it to end T-T

        That said, do you share your writing on any other sites? I work over at Creators .Co (we’re part of Now Loading) and this is the sort of content that makes for an interesting read. Would you be open to the idea of crossposting your work on our Creators fansite or sharing you wordpress posts with the users in our Facebook group? My e-mail and more info can be found on my page if you’ve got any questions.

      2. Personally, I wouldn’t dive straight into Horizon after BotW… I mean, lets face it… it’s never going to compare, right? They’re both very similar in some ways, so the differences (also, the flaws) are going to be more noticeable… I’m about to finish Horizon myself (will be done by the end of the weekend) and I’m going to take a hiatus from similar games to have room to breath before BotW… Horizon is truly fantastic, but I feel that after 80+ hours of BotW you’ll be burnt out on it!

        Oooo! Intriguing. I’ll take a look and I’ll drop you an email about it to talk better. I’ve written for games sites before (was a Reviewer for one, and a Review/Opinions Piece for a second), and it’s something I’d love to revisit. Will look and email!

    1. Good piece 🙂 now if only I could do this with books 😀 as for adulthood, yeah, I don’t think the feeling ever comes. I guess I started feeling more like an adult last year (I was 27) when I had to start financially taking care of my mother. Nothing more adult than taking care of the ones who have taken care of you all your life :p

      1. Maybe 27 is the year for it (I’m 27, almost 28 myself). It’s amazing that you are looking after your Mother, that’s a really admirable thing to be doing 🙂 No wonder it makes you feel like an adult though!

        (As for Books… They’re only a LITTLE purchase.. right? haha)

    2. Haha, it’ll come to you sooner or later, I’m sure! I’m planning to buy one in May, over my Birthday, that way I’ve had enough time to actually save for it and make sure it doesn’t impact anything else haha. Thanks for the comment, sorry about the late reply 🙂

  8. Being an adult is all about being able to weigh costs and benefits. I don’t think that anyone would be called a child or ‘childish,’ if they decided to buy a Switch over doing something more practical, like paying off bills. However, it may be deemed irresponsible. That’s just life.

    1. I agree! It’s about finding a balance and making a ‘responsible’ decision… Was just funny for me how something like this can make you think “Woah, I’m an adult now!” haha. Thanks for commenting, and sorry for the late reply!

Leave a Reply

