My Therapy

“I don’t feel like writing so I’m writing.”

That’s how I began this post. I wrote this one line.

The thing is, writing is more than just my hobby, and it’s more than a future career. To me writing is my therapy. I use writing to make sense of my own feelings and get my own head straight. Almost all writing I do is intended to be read by someone, regardless of whether it actually is, and that leaves me thinking about what message I want my writing to have.

The reason I started this post was because I was feeling down. This happens to me once every other month or so; I start questioning the point of it all, I start doubting my ability to achieve anything, and I start wallowing. The thing is, it’s so easy to foster negativity. By it’s very nature, negativity encourages us to do nothing about it as it encourages us to do nothing at all. That leads me to not wanting to get up in the morning, not wanting to go to work, not wanting to take photos and, most of all, not wanting to write. It often takes me days of being in this state, days of simply ‘existing‘ but not living. So, I forced myself to write.

When I write, it’s my therapy, and when I write my spirit lifts. As I wrote that very first line of this post I instantly felt lighter, then as I wrote more I started realising that many of my thoughts and fears, many of the things promoting this negativity within me, were down to simple reasons. Things like not sleeping properly, things like not feeling confident about the future, things like not feeling grateful or proud for the things I have. The more I wrote, the more I realised I could fight this negativity; by quantifying my demons in words I was able to combat them in my mindset.

Then I deleted my post. I deleted all those negative things. That post wasn’t fit for my audience, it didn’t carry the message I want a post to carry. It was me whinging that life wasn’t quite going my way, but in reality the main issue was myself. Instead, I’ve turned that post around into this, one about fighting that negativity. This is what the Clouds stands for; it’s here to promote positivity and inspire imagination. I wanted to tell you that even when you’re having a bad day, or a bad week, or even a bad year… You can often combat it by doing something you love, even if sometimes you have to force yourself to do it in the first place.

Of course, there are times when the bad simply outweighs the good, medical conditions or family tragedy are not simply combated with the pursuit of a hobby, interest or love. My point though is to not underestimate their ability to help, they may at least take the edge away, and through art and creation we may learn to understand ourselves.

Do you have those periods of time where you just want to give up? What keeps you going? What is your own personal therapy? Let me know in the comments below!

9 thoughts on “My Therapy

  1. In the words of A.A. Milne
    “You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.”

    I have many different forms of therapy. I use music and reading to soothe my soul. Talking and exercise to tame my emotions and writing is new to me but it seems to help process my thoughts. I imagine that’s how you feel about photography etc.

    Your posts always inspire me, and in fact, make me want to write more positive posts as mine tend to harbour all my negative energy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mine definitely harbour negative energy too… When I first write them! The idea is to be true to yourself, but to also try to spin them in a more positive way. If that’s not how you feel at the moment, that’s ok too! There’s no harm. Some people often suggest we shouldn’t have negativity at all, but really its just as useful and body/mind needs time to process it too. However, I find that when I’m midway through writing something ‘negative’, I realise how to turn it on it’s head. Writing for an audience helps, as I start to think “Do I want my readers to take away A, B, C? Or would I rather they took away 1, 2, 3?” and that often sets me on a different path 🙂 I use the negative thoughts to fuel that! But then then sense I make through writing, is what my post becomes!

      Like

  2. Great post! I get similar feelings when I write my diary. Sometimes it helps me overcome bad moments; sometimes the problem is serious (and I notice that it keeps reappearing in time) and I decide to plan its solution, and/or ask for help.
    I would be curious to read your negative post anyway: it helped me a lot to read that other people felt the same as me when they lose hope, and by feeling this closeness I am more encouraged to try their coping mechanisms or their solutions.

    Looking forward for future posts from you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My negative posts never last, and even when they do they transform midway through because writing helps me so. What I try to do in my posts is build up with the negative and spin it on its head! Haha. Thank you for reading, and I’m glad writing provides you help as well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Your post this morning hit me straight in the heart. I’ve been down the last few days. I know I need to get out of the dark hole that I’ve dug myself into.
    You are so right, writing your feelings, emotions, craziness swirling around in the brain really makes the load a bit lighter.
    Thank you.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

